Tantrums are every parent’s nightmare. I witnessed a major tantrum in the mall a few weeks ago and I can’t stop thinking about it.

We were in Spar, standing in the queue to get to the checkouts. This Spar has a long aisle to the checkout filled with loads and loads and loads of sweets. Every. Parent’s. Nightmare. I am sure. Matthew saw the Kinderjoys and wanted one. He was standing in the trolley and could reach it, so took one. Mark then told him to put it back. Unfortunately, in the trolley behind us, was a family with 3 children, and the one daughter saw Matthew with the Kinderjoy. She then LOUDLY demanded that she gets one. Her mom said no, as most of us parents do when we wander down that checkout aisle. The next minute, we all heard this piercing scream! I thought maybe the fake cow on top of the fridges fell down on an unsuspecting customer. No, this little girl was screaming for the sweet that her mom said no to.

I really felt for that mom. Her daughter kept screaming (piercing screams) and there wasn’t anything she or anyone else could do. I think that entire store came to a standstill while the family were paying for their goods and walking out.

I must say, that I was extremely lucky that Matthew wasn’t much of a tantrumer. He did have tantrums but with no sound. I know I’m going to regret this in a few months’ time when Ethan starts with tantrums. I have no idea how to handle it though. I’m hoping Ethan is as silent as Matthew was but what’s the chances?

IMG_20150927_201821

IMG_20150927_202028

