Tired? I don’t know what it feels like anymore to not be tired.

Tired

*WARNING* Story about poop to follow…

Just the other day, I had come home from work and all I could think about was taking off my shoes, putting on comfortable bottoms and getting started on making supper. Because after supper, the boys must be bathed, then Ethan must have his bottle, he will want to sit on lap while he drinks it and eventually fall asleep in my arms. Then it’s time for my shower, spend time with Mark, blah, blah, blah….

Aaaanyway, I walked in, and Mark is making supper! Yay!!! One thing off my to do list. For once, supper is being made and not by me, Ethan is not crying to be carried and Matthew is outside playing. Not 5 minutes into this blissful afternoon (I mean, come on, it’s always too good to be true, right?) Matthew calls for me urgently from outside. I ask him what’s wrong and he says he needs to poop. I shout to him to come inside and go sit on the toilet. We normally keep the back gate closed (not locked) so that Ethan can’t escape our supervision, and I run to open the gate so Matthew can come in. He rushes in but his bottoms are around his knees. Now I’m concerned. Never a good sign when you see something like this.

I won’t go into any more detail except to say that I had a lot of cleaning to do. Tired.

IMG-20150909-WA0000

I woke up one morning last week with a sore boob. Out of the blue, just a pain. I ignored it, thinking I may have slept wrong or Ethan must have kicked me in his sleep. Throughout that day, the pain just got worse. It felt like my milk was coming in and I needed to express or breastfeed to get some relief, and I remember thinking that it’s been 2 months since I stopped breastfeeding. I get home and dig out the pump. That was THE worst 10 minutes of my entire pumping career! It felt like the pump was trying to pull my boob off and use it to feed the dog (and we don’t even have a dog). I rushed to doctor the next day and what is the diagnosis….. mastitis. Strong antibiotics, probiotic, pain meds and strict instructions to not pick the baby up. I must say that the following 2 days were the worst. It seemed like just because I was in pain, Matthew needed to be around me more, Ethan wanted to be held more and even hubby needed more attention. Today, a week later, the pain is gone but it feels very sensitive. Reminds me of the early days of pregnancy when no one and nothing could touch my boobs. Not sure if I should go back to the doctor or not. Maybe I’ll give it a few more days and if it’s still feeling weird by next week I’ll go.

IMG-20150911-WA0000

I know this is a random post about a lot of nothing. But I really just needed to get it out of my head, maybe help one mom know that she’s not alone with a child that can’t detect when his bowels are going to be moving. Or one mom who stopped breastfeeding and not long thereafter gets an infection.

