It’s been a while since I was here. Life seems to be happening and there doesn’t seem to be time to do anything other than work, sleep, eat and spend time with my lovelies. Here’s a bit of a catch-up. It will probably be all jumbled and all over the place, so please bear with me.

Thinking about

There has been some crazy stories about how bad the world is lately. Too many issues to write about (and I think this may be why I was so quiet this last month) and nothing that hasn’t been covered by others. The thing that has been on my mind the most though, is how do I raise my children to be good people. To grow up to respect other people’s religion, race, culture, sexuality, opinions. There are so many factors out there that can influence my children regardless of my teachings; television, social media, easy access to the world via the internet, how do I ensure that they become people who look out for others and do good.

Reading

I’ve recently joined a book club with 10 other ladies, where we each choose a book and then pass our book on to one person. We each have a month to read our book we received before sending that book on to ‘our’ person. Last month, I received a book titled The Last Juror by John Grisham. The book is about a man from a well-known family that rapes and kills a woman in the small town. He is convicted and sentenced to prison but there’s a slight twist later in the book. I love books that grip me from the first page and sadly, this book didn’t do that for me. I had a hard time getting through the first few chapters but once through all the detail given, the story line and end was enjoyable. This month’s book is entitled, A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. I heard it’s an amazing novel, so I can’t wait to get started.

Experiencing

Recently, my sister and I decided to try doing or experiencing something new at least once a month. I think this has something to do with my mom passing but I haven’t thought it out too much yet. It started with the Muddy Princess race we did on 1 May 2016. Since then, we’ve been for a wine tasting and breakfast at JC le Roux which was an amazing experience. Obviously not something that can be done with the children but a good outing regardless. We had the most scrumptious burgers at Jerry’s Burger Bar in Kloof Street. We discovered Stellenbrau craft beer in Stellenbosch. Took the children to experience a little bit of the V&A Waterfront with a milkshake at the Clock Tower, a trip on the Wheel of Excellence, and then more burgers at Frankie’s in Sea Point. Of course, an outing to V&A isn’t complete unless you’ve made a trip to the new Hamley’s. The children were beyond themselves. Obviously we have loads still to encounter but considering what homebodies we are, the fact that we did this much in such a few weeks is something to write about.

Children

Besides the fact that they are growing like the weeds that take over my front and back garden, the boys are amazing. Ethan is starting to say more and more actual words. He is throwing tantrums like nothing I’ve ever experienced with Matthew (any tips on how to deal with it will be so greatly appreciated). He looks up to his brother and tries to do everything he does. Matthew is a wonderful conversationalist, loves to sing and dance and has an opinion about everything. We are STILL waiting to hear from the schools we applied at for Grade R for next year. I am so anxious about this and can’t wait to have this finalised. Planning for Ethan’s birthday is under way. This is the first year of all birthday parties we’ve done, that we’re not having it at home. Still need to do so much with the décor details and food planning but whatevs, I’ll pull it off in time.

Marriage

I’m currently participating in this ‘Appreciate Your Partner” challenge started by Date Nights. You write down at least one thing you appreciate about your partner every day for 30 in July. The aim is to make you not only appreciate your partner more but perhaps remind you of why you are with them. Life is hectic and sometimes we all need a reminder of this. Also who doesn’t want to hear all the things your partner appreciates about you. You can find the details to the challenge here. There is still some time to catch up. Go on, do it. You can follow me on Instagram to see my updates about my appreciation for Mark.

APY
Photo credit – http://www.datenights.co.za

Work

I’ve been very unhappy at work for the last few months at least. I’ve tried to make it work, tried to make changes and get management involved. Things just never got any better. I was taken advantage of and not appreciated. Just last week, I went for an interview at a great place for an amazing position and I got the job! I resigned the next day and I’ve had a heavy heart since. I love my company, I love my work and I love my colleagues. It’s the management of the staff and how unappreciated we all were that was getting to me. I keep asking myself if I’m making the right decision to leave. Shouldn’t I have given it some more time to get better. I have been praying daily for guidance and to make my heart lighter about this decision that I made.

new job

Wow, this is one massive catch-up post. If you got this far, I hope the cup of coffee was enough and that the biscuits held till the end.

If you have any advice for this mommy regarding toddler tantrums, how to deal with teaching my children to uphold their values, my work worries, or even if you have any reviews about the books I mentioned above, please leave a comment. I love hearing from you and I promise, I’ll reply.

Family

