Being a parent is easy, said no parent ever. Being someone’s mom has its hard moments, said every mom ever. True? I think it’s true for most of us. There is no parenting handbook that we get when we leave the hospital with our little bundle wrapped in a warm blanket and strapped in their car seat. We get a “Your Pregnancy” handbook, “Surviving the first few weeks with a newborn baby” handbook, even a “How to handle you pregnant wife” handbook, but a book on how to deal with a toddler who screams all-the-time, or how to talk to your six year old about what gay means because another boy told him he’s gonna be gay, no way.

These are things we need to figure out on our own and in a way that is beneficial to our families. We second guess ourselves constantly, we have mom guilt for any little thing we do (or don’t do), we sacrifice and give our all, and we do it all out of love for our children. Yet, we are still saying or thinking that we can do/be better. We’re always comparing and judging and praying to be better mothers. But that needs to stop. We need to take a moment and realise that we are all rocking motherhood, in our own ways.

I was tagged by Hayley from Hayley’s Joys to share ways on how I’m rocking motherhood (Thanks Hayley!!!). At first I was like, nah I’m not rocking motherhood so there’s no way I can come up with even 2 things that show I’m good at this. I mulled it over for a few days and realised that we are all doing the best we can do for our children and for ourselves. I’m hoping this post (and the others like it) will inspire you to make your own list on why you’re rocking motherhood.

Here’s my list:

  1.  I teach them patience. When they ask for something and I’m busy, they need to wait until I’m done. I tell them that they will get what they asked for but they need to hold on for a minute or two.
  2. We do things together. Whether it’s going shopping, going to a friend or family’s home, sitting on the floor playing a game or pulling the mattress into the lounge and watching a movie, we do it together.
  3. I don’t get involved when they fight. This is a tough one to do because they scream and fight over a toy and one or the other ends up crying. But I realised that I can’t always get involved and that they need to work on figuring out how to get along.
  4. I teach them to say please and thank you. This is a big one for me as I don’t like when children don’t have manners. So I’m teaching my kids to at least say please and thank you. They don’t always get it right and I have to remind them constantly but I know that repetition will eventually pay off.
  5. I don’t fight over food. If my kids don’t want to eat something I don’t fight about it. I let it go. Children will eat when they’re hungry and I’ve learnt that they can live on sunshine and fresh air much longer than we can. But, if they don’t eat, they don’t get anything else.
  6. I take breaths and count to 10. It’s not always easy being patient and being a great mom (especially when you’re pregnant and your hormones are all over the place). So I go to the toilet, lock the door and take 10 deep breaths. This gives us all a few minutes to calm down and see the situation afresh.
  7. I love their dad. And I want them to see that. I want them to learn what love between a husband and wife is. That it’s not always sunshine and roses but if you get through it together and with love and patience for each other, the outcome is always brighter than you can believe. I want them to look back onto our marriage 20 years from now and say I want what mom and dad had.
  8. I show them I love them. Not only with hugs and kisses and cuddles. But by being the mom they need. Whether it’s teaching them that they need to do chores, or sitting with them when homework needs to be done. Whether it’s explaining what it means to hurt someone with your words or kicking the ball with them outside. I show them I love them through my words and my actions.
  9. They have friends. Even though it’s the children of our friends or their school/crèche friends. They learn to play with others and share and be kind. They watch us with our friends and how we interact with them and they model their own behaviour on what they see.
  10. I wipe their nose, bums, catch vomit with my hands and put cold cloths to warm foreheads. I know I signed up for all that but I do it without thinking all the time. I also kiss bruises and scrapes, smooth tears and whisper it’s going to be okay’s, hold them tight and tell them I love them. I blow kisses (and catch them), I fist pump and high five, I ruffle heads and tickle toes. I love them and I can’t wait to see what’s next.

I’m supposed to tag 3-5 other bloggers to share their own ways on how they’re rocking motherhood but I want to challenge you all out there to share your own. Whether it’s in your journal and you keep it to yourself, or you type up a list and post it to Facebook and Instagram, or even print it out and put it on your fridge to remind yourself of the awesome mommy you are.

The rules for the tag is as follows:

  1. Thank the blogger that tagged you and link to their blog.
  2. List 10 things you believe make you a good mother (this is just a guideline. It can be more or less than 10.)
  3. Tag 3 – 5 bloggers to join in the #RockingMotherhood Tag.

 

 

